Confession in Eight Sentences, Most of Which Are Considerably Shorter Than This Title

Marlene Lee

I admire people who can write stories and characters from scratch.

But I’m a self-referential writer.

I am always in the confession booth.

Methodists don’t go to Confession.

I should have been a Catholic.

But I became a writer.

When my angst has mellowed, when I’m not in conflict, when I don’t love to hear myself air my confusions, I’ll turn to a more useful and profitable occupation than writing fiction.

I don’t see that happening any time soon.

View original post

Leave a Reply

